Ayush Distinguished Scientist Chairs

In recent years, much emphasis has been laid to focus on high impact research with a great translational potential in the field of Ayush systems. The MoA is promoting several measures to strengthen interdisciplinary culture, research capacity and vibrant ecosystem for multi-institutional collaborations, with the vision to expand the horizon of research in Ayush through strategic, coherent, and coordinated interdisciplinary research and its evidence-based translation. With this purpose, the MoA has identified 05 domains for setting up of Ayush Distinguished Scientist Chairs, viz., 1. Interdisciplinary Clinical Research, 2. Public health and Epidemiology, 3. Ayurveda biology and Basic sciences, 4. Pharmaceutical Drug Development, 5. Consciousness and Cognitive Sciences.

The Ayush Distinguished Scientist Chairs would provide guidance/mentoring to Research councils /National institutes under MoA, in relevant areas of research, education and healthcare services. They would also engage in promoting research, development and innovation in strategic areas of interest facilitate conceptualization, preparation of research proposals for funding from external agencies. They would design and execute short-term capacity-building programmes for research Staff/ academicians of Research councils /National institutes under MoA focusing on the discipline of the Chair.

- The Ayush Distinguished Chair for Interdisciplinary Clinical Research, Dr. Nandini. K. Kumar, is the former Deputy Director General Senior Grade of the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), and pioneered bioethics education in India.She was awarded "Outstanding international surveyor of ethics committee" in November 2019 by WHO initiated body, the Strategic Initiative for Development of Capacity in Ethical Review.
- Dr. Arvind Chopra, Ayush Distinguished Chair for Public health and Epidemiology, is an eminent Rheumatologist in the Country and is the Director and Chief Rheumatologist, at the Centre for Rheumatic Diseases, Pune. He is the recipient of many recognitions and awards such as the "Master of the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) 2022" which is the highest global award by the ACR and Dr. MN Passey Award 2022 (the highest honor of the Indian Rheumatology Association for lifetime contributions).
- Dr. Sharmila Shekhar Mande, the Ayush Distinguished Chair for Ayurveda biology and Basic sciences, had served as Distinguished Chief Scientist at TCS Research, is a recipient

of 'TATA-Innovista' award for developing innovative method for accurately predicting risk of diseases and disorders and has been conferred many recognitions in the field of "multiomics"

- The Ayush Distinguished Chair, for the domain of Pharmaceutical Drug Development, **Dr**. **Madhu Dikshit**, is a leading scientist in the country and has made significant contributions to the area of Molecular Pharmacology with a special interest in redox biology. Dr. Dikshit has more than 40 years of research experience and has published more than 200 well-cited papers, 23 reviews in peer-reviewed journals, and numerous such other publications
- Dr. B.N. Gangadhar, the Distinguished Scientist Chair, in the domain of Consciousness and Cognitive Sciences, is a Padmashree Awardee in the year 2020 and is currently, serving as Professor Emeritus, Dept of Integrative Medicine, NIMHANS, Bengaluru. Dr.B.N.Gangdhar, is also the President, Medical Assessment & Rating Board, National Medical Commission of the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare. He has won numerous accolades in the field of psychiatry and is a recipient of many awards such as the "Sir C V Raman award"

Annexure









Dr. Nandini. K. Kumar

Dr. Arvind Chopra

Dr. Sharmila Shekhar Mande

Dr. Madhu Dikshit

Dr. B.N. Gangadhar